blondeernie

SDS Week 1

on February 26, 2016

I will be monitoring and caring for my 4-H steer and heifer. My steer, Buddha, is a purebred Hereford, a Hereford is typically has a white face and socks and a red body. My heifer is a crossbred begin a Gelbvieh and a Hereford, her Sire is a Gelbvieh and her Dam is a Herford. Gelbvieh’s are typically a brown-red colour and can be black too. When it comes to the care of animals a market steer and a heifer will have very different diets. Within the first week of April my heifer will be artificially inseminated (AI), I will be touching on genetics and why I chose to breed to the bull I chose. I will be going into the cost and profit of having a steer and a heifer, whether or not the I will make more money than what I will spend. I will also be journaling monthly on feed and what they consume and monthly weight gains for my steer.


One response to “SDS Week 1

  1. carlacoop1 says:

    AWESOME start Emma! Make sure to include pictures and videos as you go along of Buddha.

    Like

Leave a comment