blondeernie

My Environment

  1. I am currently living in my ideal environment on the farm. The best time of year is in the spring time when everything comes alive after a long winter. This also the time of year when calves are born and grass begins to grow! I am very active in my environment, whether it’s caring for the livestock or maintenance around the yard. This the ideal environment I want and do live in.  I think that because I grew up on a farm, I can really appreciate the beauty of mother nature. One of the most wonderful things I see is the pure love and joy a mother cow will have for her calf, it is also truly amazing how fast the calves will be up and moving and ready to begin their life. This atmosphere I have grown up in has really shown me how to value the Earth, whether it be the animals on the surface or the crops growing in the soil. I would consider Spring to be my favorite time of because it is so luscious and green, I see it as a new beginning. My environment is very nature-based. Even though my environment isn’t from a religious stand point, my farm and environment is my culture. I live and breath the life I live, both figuratively and literally. I don’t consider my current environment my absolute “perfect” environment but it definitely is a huge basis of my ideal. One thing I would change would the location, I have always dreamed of living in the mountains of Alberta and taking the different terrain that it has to offer. I would my ideal environment would basically the atmosphere and the way I am living now just in the Rocky Mountains of Alberta!
  2. Anthropocentric is considering human beings as the most significant entity of the universe.                                                                                                                                                                                       Biocentrism is considering all forms of life as having important value.                                                                                                                                                                                                              Ecocentric is the belief the all living as organisms and ecosystems have value regardless of their usefulness.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Technocentric is the complete faith in technology and having complete control over nature.                                                                                                                                                                                    Ecofeminism is a form of feminism that studies the relationships between nature and  females.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 I would say that biocentrism is the one that really stands out to me, I do too believe all life has purpose. I can’t say I can relate completely but I can see the development of technocentric in the fact that people have control in regards of technology in many ways, there are many aspects of life that have evolved into technology-based programs or operations, for example, farming. Farming has come a very long way with technology and innovation. I also disagree with aspects of technocentric in the sense that they believe they are in control of nature, which they absolutely are not. We will never reach a point where technology will be in control, plants are still going to grow, animals are still going to reproduce, and the sun is still going to come up, it’s natural and that won’t change.
2 Comments »